Fall on the Collie

View on Canyon Creek from out Porch

View on Canyon Creek from out Porch

Fat Bow on the White Zonker

Fat Bow on the White Zonker

A quick college trip home to the rockies in the fall gave me a good reason to get out on the river. I hadn’t done much fall fishing before now, but definitely my favorite season to be out on the water. I pulled up to the Canyon Creek exit (downstream of Glenwood) late morning knowing the Canyon Creek and the stretch of water up and down on the Colorado for 50 yards were closed but I knew of some good looking riffles further upstream. I had my 4 weight, a little too small in my opinion, rigged up with thick tippet with a double beadhead black Bitch Creek Nymph followed by 2 feet of tippet and a white Zonker tailing behind. The fishing was pretty unbelievable, several 20 incher browns  and many more 16-18 inchers, as well as a fat bow.I will definitely be returning here soon!

2 responses to “Fall on the Collie

Leave a Reply

