Canyon Creek

cropped-dscf5442.jpg

Beautiful fat rainbow taken on a yellow egg

For the past three days I’ve been fishing a massive hole where  Canyon Creek, about 10 minutes west of Glenwood Springs on I-70, meets the Colorado river. The fishing has been pretty unreal, the first day I managed to pull in about 6 rainbows and a brown. The next day that number was up to 10 or so and yesterday I stopped by for about an hour and got 2 rainbows, 1 of them 18+ inches! I would still much rather be fishing in any of the other gold medal waters around Glenwood and the Roaring Fork Valley but this satisfies while those rivers are still running high and muddy. I’m in the process of trying to put together a gopro edit of the past couple of days but I may need some more footage. For now I’ll post some of the photos taken and edited by my sister (check out her blog here ).

DSCF5492

Releasing another rainbow

DSCF5433

Reeling in a healthy rainbow caught on a red copper john

DSCF5441DSCF5504

Leave a Reply

